Blueberry Muffins

Posted on July 7, 2007. Filed under: fruit, muffins |

These aren’t the only muffins my mom made when I was growing up by any means. Blueberry alternated with bran as the breakfast muffin of choice, cranberry-orange were made annually for Christmas breakfast, and French Breakfast Muffins appeared with less frequency than blueberry and bran, but were still made several times in my memory.

But when I think of muffins, when I eat other muffins, these are the ones I compare them to.

It’s another Betty Crocker recipe. I rarely make them for breakfast myself; my weekend schedule is such these days that by the time I haul myself out of bed in the morning, it’s about time for lunch. Instead, I usually bake them to accompany scrambled eggs for a light, easy dinner. I also rarely make them with just blueberries anymore. Trader Joe’s has terrific frozen fruit, and I usually buy their mixed fruit bag – blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries – and make my muffins with that instead.

1 egg

1/2 C milk

1/4 C vegetable oil

1 1/2 C flour

1/2 C sugar

2 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 C berries

Heat oven to 400 F. Line muffin tin with muffin liners.

Beat egg; stir in milk and oil Mix in remaining ingredients until the flour is just moistened – batter should be lumpy. Fold in cup of berries.

Fill muffin cups to about 2/3 full (this is usually a couple of tablespoons-full, in my experience). Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

As with all baking, if you have dark metal or silicone pans, the baking time will be significantly less, so keep an eye on the muffins!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

