Chicken Tacos

Posted on July 29, 2007. Filed under: chicken, maindish, mexican |

I’m a sucker for Mexican/Tex-Mex/Mexican-inspired food.  Taco Night was always my favorite at home, I haunted Taco John’s during the painful period when I worked retail between college and grad school, and I mourn the fact that my favorite fast food joint – Chipotle – doesn’t have a location in Westchester County, where I live.

I think you get the point; I love me a good taco.

This recipe is not actually a taco recipe – it’s a Super Bowl Sunday nacho recipe from one of those tiny pocket-sized cookbooks  you can buy in supermarket checkout lanes.  It also uses one of my favorite kitchen appliances of all time: the slow cooker.  Seriously, I know they were originally lauded as the lifesaver of the busy mother, but there is no greater joy for the single and tired than walking in the door and knowing dinner is already done.

But on to the chicken tacos.

1-2 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken thighs

1 14-oz can diced tomatoes

1 14-oz can pinto beans, drained

1 small can chopped green chiles

1 package taco seasoning

1 T lime juice

Layer the chicken thighs on the bottom of your slow cooker.  Top with tomatoes, taco seasoning, beans, chiles, and lime juice.  Cover, and cook on low setting for 6-8 hours.

When done, turn the heat off and mash chicken with a fork.  After cooking this long, the chicken should basically fall apart.  Layer the mixture into tortillas and top with desired taco toppings, or, if you prefer the nacho method, scoop up with chips.

The original recipe calls for two pounds of chicken, but that’s a lot of taco mixture.  One pound is plenty for anything other than, well, a Super Bowl party.

For taco seasoning, I always use and cannot recommend highly enough Penzey’s Spices chicken taco seasoning.  It doesn’t come in the packets supermarket seasoning comes in.  You should use about a tablespoon.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

