Chicken Parmesan Subs

Posted on August 10, 2007. Filed under: chicken, italian, maindish, sandwiches |

I actually subscribe to Everyday with Rachael Ray, though I doubt I will for much longer – once they moved from the bimonthly to the monthly format, it became something that was less recipes (what I want) and more fluffy filler. I subscribe to Marie Claire and I read romance novels. There’s plenty of fluffy filler in my reading material as it is.

But I digress.

This recipe was the No Recipe Zone, um, recipe in the March 2007 issue. (Basically it just gave you step by step instructions with pictures instead of a recipe, but you could get the recipe on the magazine’s website. Which I did, because I like to have things spelled out for me.) Anyway: chicken parmesan subs. Easy to make, tasty, warm, and something I’ve made a couple of times since I found the recipe. Excellent on those evenings when you’re plopped on the couch watching dvds from Netflix or reading a book. Which is how most of my evenings go, frankly.

2 T extra virgin olive oil

4 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed

1 28 oz can chopped tomatoes

4 thin chicken cutlets

2 T butter or margarine, softened

1 C mozzarella cheese, shredded

2 firm-textured hoagie rolls, split

Crushed red pepper, to taste

Salt, to taste

Pepper, to taste

Oregano, to taste

In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add 3 garlic cloves and fry until lightly golden, about 5 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes and cook until heated through, about 5 minutes. Season the sauce to taste with salt, pepper, crushed red pepper and oregano. Add the chicken and simmer, stirring occasionally, until cooked through, about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, preheat the broiler. Spread a little butter on each hoagie roll half, place cut side up on a small baking sheet and broil until golden and crunchy, about 3 minutes. Gently rub with the remaining garlic clove and set aside.

Distribute half of the mozzarella on the roll halves. Arrange the chicken and some sauce over the cheese and then top with the remaining cheese. Broil until the cheese is melted and bubbly, about 3 minutes. Sprinkle a bit of oregano on top and serve immediately.

Mmm, toasty.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

