Creamy Wild Rice Soup

Posted on September 8, 2007. Filed under: maindish, soup/stew |

I’m getting in the mood for soup, not because the weather is actually getting any colder (I’m typing this out at midnight on Friday, in a tank top, with the fan going behind me. And it’s supposed to be 90 tomorrow) but because it’s September, and September means the beginning of Fall, and Fall means soup.

Also, I bought a new slow cooker cookbook off the bargain racks at Barnes & Noble yesterday, and the only section I’ve leafed through so far has been the soup section.

This soup isn’t from the cookbook, though, and it’s not for the slow cooker.  It’s a traditional stovetop soup that’s creamy and a bit nutty from the wild rice, and makes me think of Minnesota in winter – even though this is my mother’s recipe, and I never ate wild rice soup while I was at college in the Land of 10,000 Lakes.  It’s just that wild rice = Minnesota for me.

Incidentally, I actually have two recipes for wild rice soup: this one, and one from the Marshall Field’s cookbook.  They’re similar, right down to the optional toasted almond topping, and someday I’m going to have to get around to comparing the two.

 6 T. butter
1/3 cup minced onion
1/2 cup flour
3 cups chicken broth
2 cups  cooked wild rice
4 oz. sliced mushrooms
1/2 finely chopped ham or you can add chicken or bacon pieces
1/2 cup finely grated carrots
3 T. sliced or slivered almonds
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup half-and-half

Melt butter in large skillet:
Add  onion and cook and stir until  tender. Blend in flour. Gradually add broth.

Cook stirring  constantly, until mixture comes to a boil.  Boil 1 minute.

Stir in wild rice, mushrooms, ham, carrots, almonds, and salt.  simmer about 5 minutes.  Blend in half-and-half.  Garnish with chives or toasted almonds.

Makes 6 servings.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

