Chili

Posted on September 19, 2007. Filed under: maindish, soup/stew |

The temperature took a dive this weekend, which meant that the pot of chili I’d planned for later this week got made on Sunday afternoon.

I love making chili.  It’s one of those things you can throw together – it doesn’t matter that my onions are and will always be irregularly chopped, or that I probably add more green pepper than is strictly necessary, or that I put in enough red kidney beans to gag a goat.  By the time it’s cooked for several hours, it’s melded together nicely.  It’s hard to screw up chili.

This is my mom’s recipe, but I use the term loosely.  I dug up the email she sent me a couple of years ago when I asked for the chili recipe, and this is it:

I would brown the meat with some onions, celery, pepper (optional).

Add to that 1 large can tomatoes, 1-2 cans chili beans, and a small can tomato sauce. Then I add water to get it to the consistency I want. At least 1-2 sauce cans of water. Then add chili powder if you want. Simmer for 30 minutes to an hour.

Precise, it’s not, huh?  Here’s how I made it this weekend:

1 1/3 lbs. ground turkey

1/2 onion, chopped

4 stalks celery hearts, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

1-28 oz can chopped tomatoes

1-8 oz can tomato sauce

1-20 oz can red kidney beans, drained

16-oz water

3 T chili powder

Brown the meat, then add onion, celery, and green pepper.  Cook until tender.  Add tomatoes, sauce, and beans.  Add water until it reaches the desired consistancy (I added two sauce cans of water).  Add chili powder.

Bring chili up to a simmer and cover.  Cook for at least 30 minutes, or for as long as you’d like.  Flavor will deepen  the longer it’s allowed to cook.

It will probably shock no one to know that I use Penzeys for my chili powder.  Currently I’m using the medium hot, which is marginally spicier than their regular chili powder.  There’s also a hot variety, but I’m too chicken for that.

I served the chili with cornbread with mesquite honey – both the cornbread and the honey were from Trader Joe’s, and my cat developed a fondness for the combination.  Meaning he kept stealing it from me.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

