Beef Stew

Posted on October 5, 2007. Filed under: beef, maindish, soup/stew |

I really want it to be autumn.  This is partially because I’ve been cold weather clothes shopping – Wednesday I ordered some leather knee boots, and other recent purchases have included new black dress pants – but it’s also because a lot of the food I love to eat are wintery foods: chili, tuna casserole, meatloaf, pappa al pomodoro.

Beef stew’s in there too, and tonight I made it despite the fact that it hit the mid-eighties today and it was bright and sunny when I left work.   This is a different recipe than I usually make; the usual one in my mother’s version, and this I got out of the latest issue of Bust.  It’s in many ways your basic beef stew recipe with stew meat, potatoes, celery, carrot, onion, and tomatoes, but the addition of red wine gives it richness.  Frankly, if you’d handed me the resulting stew broth and some sourdough bread, I would have been happy.  It was that good.  Anyway:

2 lb. beef stew meat

1/2 onion, chopped

3 baby Yukon God potatoes, diced

2 carrots, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

1-28 oz can diced tomatoes

1 glass red wine

thyme, to taste

oregano, to taste

salt, to taste

pepper, to taste

olive oil

Season stew meat with salt and ground pepper, and brown with olive oil.  Add chopped onion, carrots, celery, and diced potato.  Stir.  Add tomatoes, including juice.  Pour in one glass of red wine.  Add seasonings to taste, and simmer for 30-45 minutes until beef is soft.

I used dried thyme and oregano, but fresh would have been equally good.  And the wine I used was a zinfandel, and gave the stew a great, fruity flavor.  Use any red you like, though.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

