Thanksgiving on the Brain: Green Bean Casserole

Posted on November 3, 2007. Filed under: casserole, holiday, sidedish, vegetable |

I don’t go home for Thanksgiving. I live in New York, my parents live in Illinois, flights are expensive, and it’s just one weekend, so I stay in New York. But I do make a fancy dinner. My first year out here I roasted Cornish game hens (and the cat was particularly fond of that one because he got the livers), last year I baked a boneless ham. This year I’ve got my eye on a stuffed turkey breast from Trader Joe’s. But the main event, as it were, is only one component of Thanksgiving, and frankly for me it’s all about the side dishes: mashed potatoes, veetable casseroles, and fruit salads. I often consider making Thanksgiving dinner just the sides, but protein is probably a good thing, so I don’t.

I don’t make everything my mom makes either, though; I mean, I live by myself, and there isn’t enough room in my fridge for a turkey breast, cranberry salad, mashed potatoes, and leftover green bean casserole or scalloped corn or asparagus casserole and dessert. So I pare it down, and I usually just make a side and buy myself a pie to go with the main dish and call it good enough. I’ve made the effort. I haven’t yet given into just ordering a pizza.

I’ve done green bean casserole and scalloped corn in years past, and I may end up doing green bean casserole again – it’s definitely my favorite, thanks to the cream of mushroom soup and the French’s fried onions. But there’s also party potatoes, which I love, but haven’t made, and asparagus casserole, which is similar to the zucchini casserole I shared a few months ago, except with asparagus instead. And scalloped corn, which is creamy and has a crusnchy cracker to, is really good too. But green bean casserole is my favorit, and it’s the one I’m going to share first.

Everybody has this recipe. It’s all over the internet, it’s on containers of French’s onions and cans of Campbell’s cream of mushroom soup, and frankly? I follow the recipe religiously. But I’m putting it up here anyway.

1 can cream of mushroom soup

2 cans green beans, either cut or French style

1/2 C milk

1 t soy sauce

1 1/3 C French’s french fried onions

dash black pepper
Mix soup, milk, pepper, soy sauce, green beans, and 2/3 cup of onions and pour into a casserole. Bake at 350F for 25 minutes. Top with remaining onions and bake another five minutes.

I always use the French-cut green beans, but that’s mostly because they’re prettier. Regular ones work just as well, and of course you can use frozen or fresh, if that’s your preference.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Thanksgiving on the Brain: Green Bean Casserole”

RSS Feed for Amanda\’s Recipe Box Comments RSS Feed


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

