Thanksgiving on the Brain: Hashbrown Casserole

Posted on November 15, 2007. Filed under: casserole, holiday, sidedish, vegetable |

This is what’s rounding out my Thanksgiving menu this year at the suggestion of my mother – crunchy, creamy, cheesy potatoes that are much less fuss than peeling, boiling, and mashing.  And the only thing I have to chop is an onion which, admittedly, is the worst thing in the world to chop.   Seriously, I have no tolerance.

I use the Potatoes O’Brien type of hash browns, although you could certainly use the traditional shredded kind.  In fact, half the reason I’m going with this recipe is that I have a bag in my freezer already, so the main ingredient is taken care of.  The other half of the reason is that it’s no fuss.  I may insist on eating something special on Thanksgiving, but I’m not going to complicate things.

2 lb bag frozen hash browns – thaw for 30 minutes
1 stick margarine – melted
1pt.   Sour cream
1 c.    Cheddar cheese
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 scant tsp. salt
1 scant tsp. garlic salt
1/2 cup chopped onion

Mix all ingredients together and bake in a 9×13 pan at 325° for 1 hour & 20 minutes – uncovered

Usually we add crushed cornflakes for that crunch, and you can drizzle melted butter on them to help them brown.  You can also lighten the recipe with low-fat cream cheese, 2% cheddar cheese, and 98% fat-free chicken soup, and it’s fine.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Thanksgiving on the Brain: Hashbrown Casserole”

RSS Feed for Amanda\’s Recipe Box Comments RSS Feed

That sounds wonderful amanda!! I’ll def try it!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

