Puppy Chow

Posted on November 24, 2007. Filed under: dessert, snacks |

Half the fun of this particular recipe is the weird looks I get when I tell someone I want puppy chow, because they’re thinking of the Purina brand dog food while I’m thinking of the chocolate-peanut butter-powdered sugar coated Crispex cereal that we made lots when I was growing up.  I’m making it this weekend because I have leftover Crispex from the hashbrown casserole I made for Thanksgiving.  And also because it’s easy and evilly good.

3/4 C peanut butter

1 C bag chocolate chips

1/4 C butter or margarine

8 C Crispex cereal

2 C powdered sugar

Melt peanut butter, butter, and chocolate chips together.  Pour over the cereal in a large bowl and stir gently to combine.  Pour sugar into a ziploc bag and add coated cereal.  Seal and shake well, until coated in powdered sugar.

Instead of doing the ziploc bag thing I always mix up the puppy chow in a large tupperware container, put the lid on, and shake the hell out of it.  It’s a lot easier and potentially less messy than the recipe’s method.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

