Faye Sildorf’s Banana Cake

Posted on March 2, 2008. Filed under: cake, dessert |

With this, I got rid of the last of the useable bananas and tossed the unusable ones. We’re totally getting apples or oranges next week, I swear.

This recipe is from the 1955 edition of the Minonk (IL) Methodist Church Cookbook. Mom sent it to me this week after I said I’d spent time online looking for a recipe. It’s currently in the oven, so I have no idea how it will have turned out, but it looked good in batter form.

2 cups cake flour sifted

1 tsp. baking powder

1tsp. baking soda

3/4 tsp. salt

1 1/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup shortening

1/2 cup sour milk

1 tsp. vanilla

2 eggs (unbeaten)

1 cup mashed bananas

1/2 cup chopped pecans

Cream sugar and shortening together,

Add flour, baking powder, soda, salt (all sifted together) alternately with sour milk (start and end with milk)

Beat in eggs

Add bananas and nuts and vanilla

Pour in greased cake pan, 12 X 8

Bake at 350F 40-45 minutes – if it looks done test it before.

My mother usually frosts this with chocolate frosting, but I’ll be making a cream cheese frosting later tonight and sprinkling the frosted cake with some more of the chopped pecans I used in the batter.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

